Tutor Profile - Sharon

Featured tutor Sharon, tutor number 1143
Tutor number1143
First nameSharon
LocationCostessey, Norwich and also offers Skype tuition
Years tutoring22
DBS / CRBDated 3 Oct 2014
GenderFemale
Rate per-hourRates from £26.00 to £35.00 plus contribution to travel costs where appropriate
Enquire

The tutor says of herself:

I am a retired school teacher principally of English and History (ages 11-18); in addition, I also taught Religious Studies at Key Stage 3 and GCSE. I am currently working as a supply teacher in Norfolk schools and I have also been employed on Norfolk County Council’s English One-to-One Tutor Register. When this was discontinued, having found this type of work very rewarding, I began working with private students in their own homes.
Having tutored since 2008 I have extensive experience of this type of work, particularly in the new and very challenging GCSE English Language. I have experience of teaching a variety of neurodiverse students (including those with dyslexia, dyspraxia, and dyscalculia) and have undergone training to further my understanding of how best these people can be assisted in their studies.
My students make motivating and confidence-building progress rapidly, and parents are often enormously relieved that such progress can enable their offspring to keep pace with their peers, or even overtake them in their skills. My strengths lie in forging encouraging relationships, clarity of explanation (often remarked upon by students and parents), providing guidance on ‘what the examiner is looking for’, organisation and supportive assessment.

Enquire

Preferred tutoring venue:

Sharon offers tution at her own home in NW Norwich and sometimes (depending on the location and circumstances) she can offer tuition at the student’s home. Sharon is also able to offer remote tuition via Zoom.
Enquire

Sharon's qualifications are as follows:

Year Awarding body Subject Qualification Grade
1995 The Open University Batchelor of Arts BA First Class Honours
1998 The Open University History [PGCE] Teaching and Learning PGCE - Sec
Neurodiversity Awarnesses Neurodiversity Awarnesses CPD
Enquire

Sharon offers the following subject/s for tuition:

Subject Level
English Secondary, GCSE, A-level
English Language Secondary, GCSE, A-level
English Literature Secondary, GCSE, A-level
History Primary, Secondary, GCSE, A-level
French Primary, Secondary
Religious Studies Secondary, GCSE
Sociology GCSE
Enquire

Here is some of the recent feedback Sharon has received:

Just to say Sam is thrilled he has been offered a place at the Univ of Essex to study sociology which as you know was his preferred place. He got a B in sociology and we can't thank you enough for your help!

Mrs W from Norwich

I would like to express our sincere thanks to Sharon for her work with Sam. We felt very comfortable with Sharon and found her way of teaching professional and extremely helpful. I would very happily recommend Norfolk Tutors and also the teacher you provided. Thanks again!

Mrs W from Norwich

Jem greatly benefited from the tuition provided by Sharon, for which I thank both Norfolk Tutors and Sharon. Despite being faced with a considerable challenge, Sharon was determined, strategic and empowering, finding what worked and didn't work for Jem and imparting confidence with regard to the exam and Jem's capacity to tackle it. Sharon was also adaptable to our complex schedule and keen to help as much as possible within the limited time frame. I have nothing but praise for her commitment and professionalism. Thank you once again!

Mr S from Norwich

Hi Sharon this is Chris, Tim's mum. I just wanted to say thank you for tutoring Tim and preparing him for the exams so well and he is pleased with his results, I know he enjoyed his lessons with you.

Mrs P from Norwich

Sharon was really helpful and we are very grateful for her support - thank you!

Mrs C from Norwich
Enquire

Make an enquiry about this tutor